Bishop’s Staff Team

Dean of St Asaph Cathedral

The Very Revd Nigel Williams (right) was installed as Dean of St Asaph Cathedral on Saturday 17 September 2011.

A fluent Welsh speaker, Nigel was born in St Asaph and brought up in Llansannan before training for the priesthood at St Michael’s College, Llandaff and the University of Wales, Cardiff.

He was ordained in St Asaph Cathedral in the mid 1990s and prior to his ministry in Colwyn Bay has served in the parishes of Denbigh & Nantglyn, and Llanrwst and Llanddoged. Between 2004 and 2009 he served as Area Dean of Rhos.

Cyswllt * Contact

The Very Revd Nigel Williams

Cathedral Office
High Street
St. Asaph
LL17 0RD

Tel: 01745 582245
Administration Team:
Pamela Vernon

Archddiaconiaid * Archdeacons

Archdeacon of Wrexham

The Venerable John Lomas was ordained in 1994, having served in the Royal Navy.  After his curacy in Rhyl, he spent ten years as Vicar of Holywell, before serving as Transition Missioner for the Diocese, helping parishes in interregnum to consider positive ways forward.  In 2014, John was made Archdeacon of St Asaph having served as a Cursal Canon at the Cathedral since 2008.  In October 2018 he was installed as Archdeacon of Wrexham.

Cyswllt * Contact

The Venerable John Lomas

Archdeacon of Montgomery

The Venerable Dr Barry Wilson is the Archdeacon of Montgomery.  Barry, a former RE teacher from Stoke on Trent, was ordained in 1997.  He had been working in the Diocese of Chester since 2013, firstly as Rector of St Mary’s in Nantwich and most recently as Vice-Dean of Chester Cathedral.  Before that, he was Vicar of All Saints’ Madeley and St Margaret’s, Betley, near Newcastle under Lyme in the Diocese of Lichfield.

Cyswllt * Contact

The Venerable Dr Barry Wilson: 01691 839667 / 07535 659023

Archdeacon of St Asaph

The Venerable Andy Grimwood was formerly the Vicar of Rhyl.  He has two teenaged sons, is a Manchester United supporter and Star Wars lover.  He has always worked in Wales, taking up his first job after graduation with British Gas in Cardiff.  As a curate in the Diocese of Llandaff, he learnt Welsh.  Andy moved to the Diocese of St Asaph in 2001 firstly to Rhyl, then to Newtown before returning to Rhyl in 2013.

Cyswllt * Contact

The Venerable Andy Grimwood

Ysgrifennydd Esgobaethol * Diocesan Secretary

DianeMcCarthyMrs Diane McCarthy was appointed as Diocesan Secretary in 2009, after a career with Marks and Spencer. She heads up the administration of the Diocese, based at the Diocesan Office in St Asaph.Diane is an active member of the church in Rhydymwyn, near Mold, and has been a church warden, and PCC and Deanery Conference member. Originally from Cheshire, Diane went to Manchester High School before going to the University of Edinburgh to study modern languages and business studies.After working in London in banking and retail, Diane joined Marks and Spencer, with whom she had a number of roles across the country, including store management, area management and financial control. Diane is married, with three children.

Cyswllt * Contact

Mrs Diane McCarthy

Diocesan Office
High Street
St. Asaph
LL17 0RD

Tel: 01745 532591
Fax: 01745 530078