The Diocesan Office

Diocesan Secretary:DianeMcCarthySMALL.jpg Diane McCarthy

01745 532591

Member of the Bishop’s Staff Team; leads the diocesan administration team to play its part in the formulation, development and delivery of diocesan strategy and policy to support God’s mission and ministry in North East Wales.


Administration and Resources Officer: Karen Williams

01745 532587

Diocesan / Cathedral Administrator and Chapter Clerk. Responsible for managing the programme of quinquennial inspections and diocesan elections.


Administrative Assistant: Siân Charlesworth 

01745 532582

Provides administrative support for the office, especially for Lifelong Learning and Communications.
Administrative Assistant: Pamela Vernon
01745 582245

Provides administrative support for the office, especially for St Asaph Cathedral and the Property Team.

Churches Conservation and Development Officer: Rachel Cutler

01745 532584

Works with Mission Areas and churches to identify appropriate solutions for buildings and sites that meet current and future needs whilst conserving and enhancing their architectural and  historical significance. Rachel administers the work of the Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches and manages the online faculties for the Diocese.


Communications Officer: Karen Maurice

Karen Maurice

01745 532599

Press Officer for the Diocese; editor of the Diocesan newsletter ‘Teulu Asaph’, the Diocesan directory and other occasional publications; webmaster.



Dementia Support Officer: Bob Friedrich

Bob supports churches to become dementia friendly, offering training, advice and support.





Director of Lifelong Learning: Roz WilliamsRosWilliams.jpg

01745 532593

Has strategic responsibility for Schools, Under 25s work and Adult Lay Training. Lead officer of the Board of Lifelong Learning and works closely with the local authorities on leadership and management issues in schools. Convenes the Diocesan Training Group.

Director of Ministry: Pam Powell

01745 582245

Pam is responsible for developing shared ministry, vocations and ministerial training within the diocese.

Diocesan Churches Inspector: Michael Plane

01745 532585

Michael will be undertaking the Quinquennial inspection , working alongside the Churches Conservation and Development Officer, and your Church Architect to assist with the creation of development proposals, and working with each Mission Area to develop a strategic plan for property.


Diocesan Parsonage Inspector: Emyr Hughes


 01745 532586

Has responsibility for the care of all parsonages within the Diocese. Manages the programme of maintenance, alteration, improvement and replacement of parsonages to ensure that parsonages are adequate and safe for our clergy and their families.


Engagement Officer: Sarah Wheat

Sarah Wheat

01745 532596

Lead officer for the Engaging Steering Group




Finance Officer: Graham WalkerGrahamW.jpg

01745 532590

Manages the financial and IT systems for the Cathedral and Diocese, including the calculation and collection of parish share. Plans and maintains the Diocesan budget and produces the accounts and financial statements for the Diocesan Board of Finance.

Adam Taylor

Finance Assistant: Adam Taylor

Supports the Finance Officer; makes expense payments and maintains the ledgers and accounts for the Diocese.




Director of Resourcing: Tracey White
01745 532589

Provides resources for churches and mission areas especially those seeking funding for projects, guidance on preparing applications, on Giftaid, VAT and governance issues.



Funding Administrator: Martyn SchlangenMartin Schlangen

Provides advice and guidance for churches seeking funding for projects.




Ministry Support Officer: Jackie Feak

Jackie provides administrative support to shared ministry, vocations and ministerial training within the diocese.



Provincial Safeguarding Officer: Wendy Lemon

Wendy Lemon


07392 319064

Based in North Wales, Wendy deals with complaints or concerns arising in the Diocese of St Asaph as well as the dioceses of Bangor and St David’s.



Safeguarding Support Officer: Emma Leighton-Jones

07881 016186

Emma is responsible for administering the safeguarding programme in the diocese and supporting churches and Mission Areas in training and development for safe ministry.



Schools Officer: Jennie Downes

01745 532594

Jennie is responsible for curriculum support, Section 50 inspection advice and the Bishop’s Visitor Programme.



Business Support Officer: Sheridan GoodeySheridan Goodwin

01745 532592

Sheridan has responsibility for systems governance, asset management, the administration of the CRAMP scheme and the 21st Century Schools programme.  She will provide advice on Admissions and statutory and legal issues relating to the Church in Wales.


Under 25s’ Officer: Tim Feak

01745 532595

Oversees, develops and sustains work with the under 25s within the Diocese. Works with children and youth workers, develops partnerships with other organisations and increases the capacity of our network of volunteers.