Deanery Pilgrim’s Trail Launched

A church from each of the 14 Deaneries in the Diocese of St Asaph has been designated a “Pilgrimage Church” for a special Deanery Trail to coincide with our Year of Pilgrimage.

Launched by Bishop Gregory at Penllyn and Edeyrnion Deanery’s pilgrim church – St Michael’s, Llanfihangal Glyn Myfyr – the idea is that each Church can now attract more visitors to celebrate the Year of Pilgrimage.

To see this map cookies and javascript must be enabled. If you are still having trouble after having checked both of these please contact us using the link at the top of the page

After the launch, pilgrims walked to St Tysilio’s Church, Llantysilio – which is neighbouring Dee Valley Deanery’s pilgrim church.

Commenting on the trail, Archdeacon Shirley said:

“The idea of having a designated pilgrim church in each deanery and developing a trail around them was to encourage people to visit some of our more remote churches.

“On the whole these buildings are not the largest and busiest churches in their deaneries, but are situated in a quiet place where pilgrims can pray, meditate and reflect.”

Here’s a list of the Churches chosen to be pilgrim churches in each Deanery:

Deanery Church Parish
St Asaph St Mary Magdalene Gwaenysgor
Denbigh St Cwyfan Llangwyfan
Dyffryn Clwyd St Peter Ruthin
Holywell Ss Mary and Beuno Whitford
Llanrhos St Doged Llanddoged
Mathrafal St Garmon Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr
Cedewain All Saints Mochdre
Pool St Nicholas Montgomery
Dee Valley St Tysilio Llantysilio
Alyn St Chad Holt
Hawarden Church of the Good Shepherd Buckley
Mold St Mary the Virgin Cilcain
Penllyn & Edeyrnion St Michael Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr
Wrexham St Giles Wrexham