The Order of St Asaph

A peal of bells rang out across Llangollen as eight new members were welcomed into the Order of St Asaph.

The award is presented to members of the laity in recognition of their outstanding service to the Diocese of St Asaph.  The new members received their award from Bishop Gregory in front of family and friends at the diocesan conference in October.

Among the eight was bell-ringer Michael Carding, whose former bell-ringing friends in the North WalMichael Cardinges Association suggested they ring a Quarter Peal at Llangollen as a congratulatory compliment.  Michael was one of those ringing the bells at St Collen’s after the conference finished.

There is a full list of those receiving the award this year below and you can find out more details of their work across the diocese by downloading this specially produced booklet.

Michael Carding received membership of the Order for his contribution to education in the DioCarol Chamberlaincese.
Carol Chamberlain receives her membership of the Order for his contribution to the life and work of the Mothers’ Union.

Rosamund Crawford is honoured for her outstanding contribution and deRosamund Crawforddication to the life of the diocese over the 12 years she has lived here.

John Elwyn EvansJohn Elwyn Evans is honoured for his long service to the Diocesan Board of Finance, Diocesan Conference and Governing Body under three Archbishops.

Lord Barry JonesThe Rt Hon Lord Barry Jones has supported the work of the Diocese for many years.

Roger PetersRoger Peters is honoured for various contributions to the life of the Diocese.

Jean Audrey SpeareJean Audrey Speare receives the award for her contribution to the life of the Diocese as a Champion for Fair Trade.

Christopher Griffiths receives his award at the CathedralChristopher Griffith received his award at the Cathedral in recognition of 15 years service both to the Diocesan Board of Finance and to the Diocesan Conference.